Literacy in the Digital Aged

So when we first started this class I thought it was going to be about how to make people use proper grammar when sending text messages or emails.  As it turned out, this is not the case and it is still very hard to understand the messages that I get from my mother.  I have learned quite a bit during this experience.  I think I would say that my digital citizenship is good but I would not say that I am very present in the online world.  I used to have Facebook and I ended up deleting it because there was just to much whining and unimportant information.  I do miss a lot of information because I don’t have it since a lot of the people I know only share pictures of nieces, nephews, and other important stuff on Facebook.  Twitter is a new experience and I can’t say that it is like Facebook.   I like that I can follow who I want and they do not necessarily need to be my friend. I do like some of the online learning that we have done.  I actively use Son of Citation all the time with my other classes.  The online resources that we have learned in this class are useful and time saving.  I would say that the biggest thing that I have taken away from this course is the importance of being competent in digital literacy.  I had pretty much all but given up on keeping up with online advancements and now I realize how important it can be to keep up with the changes and advancements.  If the people that I am working with are using these tools then it will be important for me to be able to communicate with them through those channels.  The most important thing that I have learned is the importance of keeping up for the sake of my professional career.  It has been an interesting experience and I think that the 30 day create will be something different than I have ever accomplished.

Leave a Reply

