Processing Emotions

I know that the name of my Independent Learning Project is Happiness but this week I decided to focus on some other emotions.  I got caught up in doing some viewing on TED.com and then ended up doing quite a bit of reading.  I know that I have talked about choosing to be happy, synthesizing happiness, and finding your own happiness but it is a fact that life is not always sun shine and rainbows.  I think there is a difference between being happy in a moment and being happy in life.  People can choose to be happy in a moment but you can not always choose to be happy with your life.  Part of creating a happy life is by learning to roll with the punches and find the benefit in a situation.  You can observe this in the Ted talk below.

One of the biggest mountains that stands in front of some people is having the ability to process their emotions effectively.  I know that it was a big problem for me.  I was always okay with angry, and happy but was very uncomfortable with expressing fear and sadness. I still know that I have issues with expressing these two emotions but I try my best to let them out and process them in a healthy way.  I spent a lot of time being angry before and I don’t want that anymore.  It didn’t even have to be anger because I was angry.  I could be anger because I felt sad, or angry because I felt scared.

The point behind this blog is to tell you that choosing to be happy should be a choice to make a happy life and not just choosing happiness in a moment.  Choosing happiness in a moment is okay as long as you go back and process the emotions correctly.   Choosing to ignore emotions just lets them sit and accumulate.  Its like pumping water into a balloon.  At some point it is going to explode and go everywhere.  I read a pretty interesting article about how to process emotions.  It was very basic and so I thought that I would share it because it could be understood by anybody.  It is called Processing Emotions.  It is a nice article and it gives a simple process for dealing with emotions.  I would call it a method for problem solving.  The basics to problem solving are to realize the issue, think about why it is an issue, think about how to solve the issue, and take action.

Leave a Reply

